The Most Important Resource of All

YOU Are Your Most Important Resource

I want to take a little time to talk to you about some things that were going on behind the scenes in my life while I was working on this book and uploading it so it would release on its previously announced release date, although I had a feeling deep in my core that it wasn’t 100% ready to go yet. (I promise this has everything to do with how you are your most important resource. We just have a bit of a journey to go on to get from point A to point B, so buckle up, buttercup.)

Things That Were Going On Behind the Scenes While I Was Compiling the Initial Draft of This Book:

  • A member of my husband’s family was diagnosed with cancer.
  • An older friend of mine (who was honestly a lot like family) passed away.
  • A horrific incident took place in our neighborhood, which resulted in the death of one of our neighbors. It’s so traumatic for the families involved that I don’t honestly feel comfortable giving you details about the incident, but it affected me and my work on this book nonetheless.
  • One of my Granny’s last living siblings died.
  • I am a service provider as well as a writer, and I spend all day every day putting my clients first, which is great for them, but wasn’t so great for the initial draft of this book.
  • I struggle daily with mental health issues that include ADHD with severe executive dysfunction and Type II Bipolar disorder. There are times when the fact that I made it out of bed for the day is miraculous in and of itself, much less doing everything I plan to do on a day-to-day basis.
  • I got sick repeatedly throughout the process of writing this book, and it’s hard to be your best self when you’re under the weather.

So, what does any of this have to do with you, much less the fact that you are your most important resource? I’ve made an example of myself yet again, and this is yet another opportunity for you to learn from my mistakes. I put myself between a rock and a hard place with the production of this book. It can be intensely tempting to spread yourself too thin in the interest of paying your bills. (Ask me how I know.)

Trust me when I tell you that you don’t want to give in to that temptation. I had no choice but to upload a product that I didn’t feel was ready, and the negative ARC review I got of that confirmed that suspicion for me. Still, I couldn’t afford to change the release date, so here we both are. If you take anything away from this book, I want it to be this message: YOU are your best resource, so don’t waste yourself! Give yourself the proper conditions and resources to grow into your best self, so you can put out the BEST books you’re capable of producing.

Alternately, we can frame that message in a little bit of self-deprecating humor for those of you who appreciate sarcasm and could use a chuckle at my expense.

Sad Girl Meme With Text That Reads:
Chelsea Decided to Meet Her Deadline In Spite of Having No Mental or Emotional Resources Left - Don't Be Like Chelsea

Leave a comment